Skip to content

I blame the fans…

June 20, 2014

article-2662751-1EEFA6C100000578-82_964x640If there’s anyone I think I blame for England’s defeat at the hands of Uruguay last night, it’s not Rooney, it’s not Hodgson, it’s the fans…

Don’t get me wrong it’s hugely disappointing to watch and there’s definitely things our national team need to get better at, and from my massively inexperienced perspective it’s the basic footballing principles, things like closing a player down, marking your man, applying pressure are things we seem to struggle with at the moment.

But hands down the biggest cause of our defeat in my opinion is me and you, the English fans, the English press. Have you noticed just how much we crucify our players in the media or on twitter if they don’t perform?

Something I noticed during last night’s game against Uruguay – we started off shaky and nervous and things got more shaky the moment Suarez headed his first goal past Joe Hart, BUT the moment Rooney finally managed to hit the back of the net, then things changed for us, it might have only been for a few minutes, but they changed. Suddenly we were confident, energetic, creating space and opportunity.

Here’s what I think is happening.

England are suffering a serious lack of confidence on the pitch, confidence that as individual players, they have buckets of whilst playing for their clubs.

WayneRooneyTake Wayne Rooney for example, there’s absolutely no doubt that this guy is a world class player – he’s scored some mind-blowingly good goals in his career and he’s respected and renowned the world over, and yet he receives so much abuse from English football fans.

This year it’s even gone up a notch – people have now targeted Wayne’s wife; Coleen. Seriously? I mean seriously when did that become an OK thing to do?

We tweet all these abusive comments and gestures and then for some stupid reason seem to think that it won’t make any difference but of course it will.

How stupid have we become?

If we are continually abusive towards people then that’s going to have an impact. If we continually apply pressure onto the shoulder of our sporting representatives then of course eventually every so often they will buckle.

I’ve got a revolutionary idea to fix this… it’s crazy so you have to bear with me.

Why don’t we become supportive.

The clue’s in the title a little bit – I’m an English supporter… therefore I ought to support England!!

As a dad with two young boys I can tell you I get a much better response when I’m encouraging and supportive towards my boys. That doesn’t mean that I don’t give them the hard truths at times – but I do it with respect.

There you go… RESPECT, that’s something we’re not too good at here in England.

One of the phrases that gets thrown about during these times is “national disgrace” – the media hang the players out to dry, but I think the real disgrace is how we treat our team and I think it needs to change.

Winston-ChurchillI’m proud of my heritage and I think we’re better than this. We have an opportunity to properly get behind our team, show them our support, show them that they’re not alone in this tournament. Rather than kicking them when they’re down it’s our job to pick them back up again and fill them with confidence, to help put that British Bulldog fire back into their gut.

So it’s Friday and we have a game against Costa Rica on Tuesday, our fate this year largely depends on what happens between the other teams in our group – but why don’t we as supporters start tweeting encouragement to Stevie G and the boys in the run up to potentially our last game. If we are going to go out in the group stages let’s go out with a bang.

Unless we start respecting our team and doing our bit to give them confidence I don’t think we will ever win a World Cup or a European Championship.

It’s up to you… you know what needs to be done.

From → Life Advice

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

