Skip to content

“I’m not worthy but I am worthwhile”

May 13, 2014

Have you ever had one of those moments when you suddenly become a little bit more aware of your own shortcomings?

It’s rubbish isn’t it?

couple-arguingThe other day my wife and I had an argument, and when we settled down again afterwards, she very graciously pointed out that I was unnecessarily nasty during the argument; I made some unhelpful and quite hurtful comments. As the truth dawned, as my eyes opened to how I had just behaved, it felt like a dagger in my heart. “Wow I can be quite horrid sometimes!”

When I’m being totally honest I regularly let myself down, regularly fail at achieving my own standards of behaviour – never mind that far off standard of perfect holiness as set out for me in the Bible.

There’s absolutely no doubt that I am not worthy of all that God has done for me.

ashamedMy rebellion towards God and my flagrant disregard for His caring instructions has warranted punishment. And yet God, in His desire to fulfill justice and yet rescue me from the consequences of my own sin, decided to absorb my sin and endure my punishment.

I don’t deserve that. I am not worthy of that kind of love. Never have been… never will be.

But despite being unworthy, God considers me worthwhile.

As I dare to survey the wondrous cross, as I comprehend the barbaric and torturous death that Jesus endured alone, on my behalf, I can’t help but be impacted by two things:

1. My selfish and stupid rebellion is what put Christ on that sinner’s cross.

I have no right to a self-esteem in that regard, there is nothing in myself worth esteeming. And yet I have access to the most robust sense of self-worth imaginable because:

???????????????????l2. Jesus willingly and gladly put Himself on that cross because of His great love for me.

I am so loved by God that Jesus gladly died that death so that I didn’t have to.

I may not be worthy… in fact I’m definitely not… but I’m considered worthwhile.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

