Skip to content

Who ARE you exactly?

August 22, 2013

Life-Files-Sorry-Who-are-YouHave you ever wondered who you are?

I know it’s a strange question but can you actually answer it?

What is the one thing that makes you who you are?

What is the one thing that is permanently you?

It’s actually quite difficult to answer.

My name is Jez and I am 28 – but neither of those things are necessarily permanent. For example soon I’ll be 29 and I could always change my name if I wanted – so neither of those ‘labels’ are necessarily the real and permanent me.

I’m a son and a brother, a husband and a father, but again all of these things might not last. What if I ever experienced the horror of losing my family? Wouldn’t these things then cease to be? Can I be a husband without a wife or a father without any children? Am I still a brother if I have no siblings?

Surely none of those things make me who I am.

theatre_masksEqually I could say I am a radio presenter or a preacher or a worship leader. But then these things are only in place for a season aren’t they? I won’t always be those things; if and when I ever stop doing those things does that mean I stop being me?

The more I think about it the harder it becomes to quantify who I actually am. It almost makes more sense to view all of the above ‘labels’ as ‘masks’ that I wear at different times of my life.

Some masks don’t stay on that long – For example, I’m only really a radio presenter during my working day and I’m not really a preacher when I’m fast asleep (although it has been known). Then there are other masks like being a husband and being a dad that will stay stuck on my face (hopefully) until I die but then there’s no guarantee, if I ever lost my wife and children would I no longer be me?

So what does my face look like when all ‘masks’ have been removed? If I could take all these labels away and look in the mirror what would I see?

whoWho are you when all your masks have been removed?

Do you have an identity that remains constant through all that life might throw at you?

Is it even possible to have a permanent sense of identity?

The answer is yes, but only through Jesus.

We were all designed to live out our lives in the context of a relationship with God. In Ephesians 1 we read the following:

He chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love He predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of His will.

We have been adopted as sons through Jesus Christ.

Now because this relationship has come through Jesus Christ, as a result of Him paying our debt then it’s unshakeable, it’s unbreakable, there’s no chance it can be broken or damaged.

father-and-son-holding-handsBecause this relationship with God rests solely on what Jesus has done then anything I do cannot damage it.

So here’s the best bit – if my identity is found in this unshakeable, unbreakable relationship with God then that identity is unbreakable too.

So that means no matter what life might throw at me, no matter which of my ‘masks’ are broken, I still know who I am, I still have a permanent sense of identity.

I’m a son of God.

Do you know who you are?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

