Skip to content

Snacking

July 4, 2013

dinner timeEver had one of those moments when you’re sat in front of a delicious meal but you haven’t really the appetite for it?

When I was a kid I must have driven my mum up the wall with the number of times I couldn’t finish my dinner because I had been snacking on chocolate and sweets in the run up to meal time.

I used to think that when my mum was trying to stop me from snacking that she was just out to spoil my fun, the truth is she was trying to make sure I didn’t spoil my appetite.

I think that we have a similar disposition when it comes to our spiritual diet, we snack too much.

1350982781_no-appetite_bigHave you ever wondered why your appetite for God is the way it is, why it isn’t more ferocious? why your appetite isn’t as big as you know it probably should be?

I’m convinced that one of the reasons why my appetite isn’t where I’d like it to be, is because I have spent too much of my time snacking on lesser things.

I wonder if we need to be more careful of what we consume.

What are we snacking on?

It could be the sin that’s present in your life; maybe lustful thoughts, or perhaps materialistic greed.

It could even be things of God, like your ministry, good relationships or your local church.

Thanks to the atonement, a great feast now lies before us, the fountain of life, the King of glory Himself, and yet we often come into His presence with a diminished appetite. CS Lewis once said:

c-s-lewis“It would seem that our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

Ask yourself this question today, ‘what am I snacking on that is robbing me of my hunger for God? What’s spoiling my appetite for Him?’

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

