Skip to content

Comment Threads

April 8, 2013

mohandas-karamchand-gandhiWhilst discussing Christianity, Mahatma Gandhi once made the following statement:

“I like your Christ, but I don’t like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike Your Christ.”

I don’t think there are many level-headed Christians around boasting how similar they are to Christ, (although I’m sure there’s plenty who are not too level-headed).

However there is something quite concerning about this observation, and unfortunately even though Gandhi is dead and gone, I can’t help but think that if he were still around he would make a similar statement – especially if he had the internet and read the comments that so called Christians make.

Very recently Pastor Rick Warren, author of ‘The Purpose Driven Life’ suffered a horrific tragedy as his youngest son took his own life after a life long struggle with mental illness.

As a young dad, the thought of my own flesh and blood taking his own life causes me to be sick to my stomach – I can’t begin to imagine what Pastor Rick and his family are going through.

I have read a few comments that Christians have been making in the aftermath of this news.

In fact I’ve read comments made by Christians on a whole range of topics.

Yes in the world of Christendom there are varying opinions on all sorts of things, and yes often people need to be confronted and challenged, but when did we become so nasty? When did we become so aggressive?

Why is it we seem to have forgotten that famous commandment to ‘love your neighbour as yourself’. In fact love should be the only motivation that leads you to challenge anyone in the first place.

style-thread-commentSo here’s my challenge to you, next time you go to click the ‘comment’ button, pause for 10 seconds and ask yourself these three questions:

  1. What’s my motivation for leaving this comment?
  2. Does this comment help illuminate the love of God?
  3. What would Gandhi or other unbelieving people think about this comment if they knew I professed to be a follower of Christ?

By the way I’m far from perfect on this issue, but that’s the point isn’t it?

None of us are perfect.

From → Grace, Life Advice

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

