Skip to content

Silly Sayings

February 14, 2012

It’s been a bit of a heavy season with my old blog over the last few weeks – time to lighten the internet air waves with something silly and irrelevant.

I don’t know about you, but I remember when I was a child being told all sorts of things by my parents and by other ‘grown-ups’ that now as an adult I just know are nonsense. Old wives tales that have been passed down from generation to generation. Some of these one-liners have an obvious objective, but others just seem to be utter garbage.

I thought it would be quite interesting to make a list of these old wives tales and see if you guys can remember any others (please feel free to mention them in the comments section):

If you pick your nose your head will cave in. – just for the record, I am 26 (nearly 27) and to my shame, every so often (when I am lacking in loo roll) I will pick my nose (yes I admit it – don’t tell my wife I’ve admitted this online!) – anyway my head hasn’t caved in yet.

If your pull a funny expression and the wind changes your face will stay that way. – I have been told that I constantly have a funny facial expression… to be honest I think that’s just my normal face, but perhaps there’s some truth in this one after all? Maybe my face is so odd because I pulled a silly expression as a child and it got stuck.

A watched pot never boils. Obviously this is baloney – but I think I get the message, i.e. when you’re consciously waiting for something it seems to take forever.

Sitting in front of the television will give you square eyes – we can tell this one is true from all the people who have actual square eyes!!

carrots will make you see in the dark. I am pretty sure this is a rumour that came from propaganda in the second world war. The Allied forces didn’t want the Nazis to know that they had superior radar equipment and so, to cover up their skill, spread a rumour about eating carrots – of course that explanation could be as equally false as the saying itself.

So anyway I imagine there are those of you who are reading this who are feeling anxious about these ridiculous sayings. Perhaps they have held you bound in captivity for years! Well let me give you a ‘Theo-bloggy guarantee’ that they are all nonsense!

There…can you feel it? That enormous weight lifting off your shoulders as you realise it’s ok to pick your nose, watch TV very closely and pull stupid facial expressions (just don’t get caught doing it). Well I am glad I can be of service.

Anyone else remember any other silly sayings?

One Comment
  1. Don’t step on the cracks in the pavement or the bears will get you! – Thanks for the post Jez , I will feel a lot safer walking down the road from now on !

Leave a Reply

