Skip to content

Does my pet Hamster Love Jesus?

December 21, 2011

Ok so you may remember that at the beginning of this new blogging adventure of mine, I gave, what I like to call, my “silly disclaimer”. Every so often my blogs might become slightly less serious and slightly more silly. This is for three main reasons, firstly it’s fun, secondly it’s good to keep things light-hearted (especially when talking about theology) and thirdly because it’s just the way I am.

A few years back I was reading a part of Genesis (which is the first book of the bible) and it talks about when Adam and Eve first sinned. In particular I was reading about when Satan (in the form of a serpent) first spoke to Eve. This is was the English Standard Version says in Genesis 3:

1Now the serpent was more crafty than any other beast of the field that the LORD God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God actually say, ‘You[a] shall not eat of any tree in the garden’?” 2And the woman said to the serpent, “We may eat of the fruit of the trees in the garden, 3but God said, ‘You shall not eat of the fruit of the tree that is in the midst of the garden, neither shall you touch it, lest you die.'” 4 But the serpent said to the woman, “You will not surely die. 5For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” 6So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise,[b] she took of its fruit and ate, and she also gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate. 7 Then the eyes of both were opened, and they knew that they were naked. And they sewed fig leaves together and made themselves loincloths.

This part of the bible might be well familiar to you but have you ever noticed something quite extraordinary about this passage? The snake speaks to the woman. An animal talks to the woman… and she doesn’t seem to freak out about it! Now if it was me and I was naked in my garden lusting over a golden delicious and a snake started talking to me, I probably wouldn’t engage in a weighty conversation about what God did or didn’t say. I would probably do one of two things; either I would just run, or I would try and distract the snake whilst I subtly put my trousers back on – I wouldn’t want to get bitten.

Either way it got me thinking. If we are to take a literal view of Genesis (which I think I do – although I am open to discussion on that) then why didn’t Eve seem at all shocked at this talking snake? The only reason I can suggest is that maybe in the garden of Eden all the animals talked, maybe there was such a distinct unity that all animals and people shared one language.

This got me thinking even further about animals in general and their relationship to and awareness of God. Do you think animals know about God? The bible talks about various scenarios where non-human creation seems to respond to God, and indeed the bible tells us that the universe is in fact upheld by the word of His power.

Now most people who believe in God and eternity seem fairly agreed on the notion that animals are lacking a soul and don’t have the capacity to sin and won’t be in Heaven (although again I am open to discussion) but does that mean they remain unaware?

Do animals know God exists? Do they even have capacity to know such a thing? If they do know do they consciously worship Him?

Like I said it’s a silly thought but one that might get some discussion going! Does my pet hamster love Jesus?

I don’t even own a hamster!

From → Slightly Silly

3 Comments
  1. Matt permalink

    So, are animals aware of God? I think so, it mentions in the bible that if we don’t praise God then the earth will, why not speaking too! As for hamsters, heaven is going to be a new earth, with heaven in it. So there will be animals, won’t there? Just not our dead pets.

    As I was reading this blog and I thought if Balems donkey. It. Saw God and after being beaten 3 times by Balem God makes the donkey speak, so maybe talking animals will be normal in heaven?

  2. David Pickering permalink

    The fact that there’s a talking serpent in this story might hint towards a more metaphorical or allegorical nature rather than a literal accounting of events?

    Regarding the nature of animals and all creation in relation to the fall, think about this. If before sin, there was no death, and Adam and Eve were permitted to eat of the fruits of the trees and fields, (excepting this one tree) they were not permitted to eat animals, (as this would require them to die). Were all animals eternal too as with out death in the world they could not die and therefore a lion would not eat a lamb. (does the heavenly future, where the lion lies down with the lamb refer to a return to the initial ideals of original creation, and the restoration of creation to the way God intended?). in choosing to go her own way, sin damages her relationship with God, sin also damages the entirety of creation. You can see in Gen 3 v 17 god curses the ground, making it difficult for the man to grow crops. This is a curse that fundamentally affects the way soil and seeds worked. perhaps indicating the serious effects on the planet that sin wrought.

    Maybe this view could hold some answers as to why tsunamis and earthquakes happen. The earth was broken by entrance to creation.

    Interestingly when Jesus died, the earth shook, rocks split and tombs were opened [Mat 27v50]. Jesus death had an impact on the earth not just for us.

    Christus Victor.

Leave a Reply

