Skip to content

Theology is a big deal.

November 27, 2011

Hello, thanks for checking out my blog. Allow me to introduce myself – my name is Jez and I’m an adopted Stokey. (I say adopted because I’m from Bournemouth originally) I live in Stoke-on-Trent with my beautiful wife Bex and my little monkey son; Caleb-Jack. (I now have another monkey son called Reuben – he’s been a new addition since originally writing this opening post)

There are many things in life that I get really excited about. I love my family, I love my city, I love music, I love comedy, I love a good game of footy, I love beer and I love a great deal more. However there is nothing that truly excites my heart and causes me immense excitement than God. There is nothing bigger, there is nothing better, and I reckon there is nothing more deserving of thought and discussion.

It’s for these reasons that I really wanted to start this blog. I am certain that people with all sorts of varying views on God and religion will read these following blogs and have all kinds of opinions – and I am totally fine with that. My biggest desire here is to at least get people talking about God. We all have our opinions but often we don’t always know why. Hopefully this blog will help many (myself included) to challenge themselves to think ‘why do I believe what I believe?’ ‘Are my views built on truth?’ ‘Will my opinions stand the test of time?’

A.W Tozer once made a giant claim when in his book (‘The Knowledge of the Holy’) he said the following:

“What comes into our minds when we think about God is the most important thing about us.”

He then goes onto say:

“Without doubt, the mightiest thought the mind can entertain is the thought of God.”

Essentially the idea of this blog is to get people talking about that which truly matters – God.  Theology is our knowledge and understanding of God and therefore of the highest importance. What we understand, or think we understand about God literally affects everything we do in life, it affects who we are. Theology, therefore, is a big deal to you, and to me and to everyone who has breath in their lungs. We must all ask ourselves at some point in our lives the biggest question that exists “Who and what is God?”

I welcome all comments and discussion on this page, no matter how crazy they are – I love a little bit of controversy. I do ask, however, that we remain respectful, not necessarily of each other’s opinions (it’s ok to disagree) but of each other and their right to that opinion (it’s not ok to get nasty), and besides I just won’t approve any of the nasty comments.

I would just like to add a slight disclaimer – I do reserve the right to be silly once in a while. It’s good to keep a light-heartedness about this page – otherwise things could get too heavy. Also I can’t help being silly here and there – it’s just the way I am.

Thanks for reading thus far – I really hope you enjoy what’s to come.

From → Knowing God

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

